top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Easter Bunny Dirt Cups


Relive your childhood with these totally adorable (and super yummy!) Easter Bunny Dirt Cups!

Relive your childhood with these totally adorable (and super yummy!) Easter Bunny Dirt Cups!

Hey, y’all! Our five senses trigger memories from our past. Whether we may catch wind or a certain smell or enjoy a particular taste, these things can remind us of something from our past. For me, foods such as PB & J, sausage biscuits and gravy, chocolate pudding and waffles activate food memories from my childhood.

When I was younger I always had certain staples packed in my lunch box. A sandwich of some sort (my favorite was turkey with cranberry sauce), fruit, a bag of chips or Handi-Snacks (remember those?) and something sweet. My something sweet was often Dunakroo’s (see my Birthday Cake Dip for a similar homemade recipe), a brownie or chocolate pudding.

I love playing around with different pudding concoctions because it brings me back to my childhood. Do you remember dirt cups? They were little cups of pudding covered in crushed Oreos and topped with gummy worms. I used to love those little guys! To this day, gummy bears are my favorite candy!

I started toying around with the idea of coming up with Easter dirt cups. Worms are springish but not really Eastery (if that's even a word...). I came up with the idea of using green colored coconut to scatter on top of the chocolate putting to replicate grass. I added a Peep bunny and some candy eggs to finish off the look.

Relive your childhood with these totally adorable (and super yummy!) Easter Bunny Dirt Cups!

Isn't this little guy totes adorbs?

Don't worry, even I'm rolling my eyes at the fact that I just typed that.

Ingredients:

Chocolate pudding cups

Shredded coconut

Green food coloring

Peep marshmallow bunnies

Candy eggs

Relive your childhood with these totally adorable (and super yummy!) Easter Bunny Dirt Cups!

Instructions:

1. Remove the lid off a pudding cup. Scoop it into a small cup or dish, if you wish, or keep the pudding in the original cup.

2. Add a little bit of coconut into a small bowl. Add a few drops of green food coloring and stir until you reach your desired color.

3. Spread the coconut on top of your pudding cups.

4. Add a marshmallow bunny into the dirt cup.

5. Sprinkle in a couple of candy eggs. Serve.

I just love these little guys! Talk about triggering memories. I used to love making dirt cups. It was seriously one of my favorite cooking activities as a kid! This "recipe" is the perfect activity for you and your little one this spring.

Relive your childhood with these totally adorable (and super yummy!) Easter Bunny Dirt Cups!

Be sure to pin this recipe for later! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Instagram and Twitter for more kid-friendly food activities like this one.

Use #mandmcooks on social media if you make these adorable Easter Bunny Dirt Cups so I can see how they turn out

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page