top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Classic Sausage, Biscuits, and Gravy


You won't believe how simple this classic Sausage Biscuits and Gravy dish is to make!

Hey, y'all! Sausage Biscuits and Gravy is a staple in every southern household. It's a delicious, hearty meal that helps you kick off the day just right!

Every family has recipes that get passed on from one family member to another- this is one of those recipes. My Aunt Vickie taught my mom how to make this dish, and I learned from watching her. I altered it just a smidge (only by adding garlic powder) to make it my own. Each time I whip this dish up, I think of my mom and my aunt.

What is Sausage Gravy?

Sausage Gravy is a classic breakfast staple in the South and Mid-west. It's a heart gravy made from sausage and a few staple ingredients. Pile it high on bisuits and you've got yourself a treat!

How Do I Make Sausage Gravy?

Simply brown one pound of pork breakfast sausage, breaking it up as you go. Once the meat has been cooked through, create a roux by adding flour and butter to the pan. Slowly add in milk, and seasonings and allow the mixture to thicken. Serve it on top of warm biscuits.

What Kind of Sausage Should I Use?

This dish is super versatile. You can use any kind of pork breakfast sausage- mild, hot, maple, sage, etc. Either way, it'll turn out great. I, however, always use mild.

Kitchen Essentials:

Ingredients:

1 pound breakfast sausage 2 tbsp butter 1/3 cup flour 3 cups milk 1/4 tsp garlic powder Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

1. Brown the sausage in a large skillet over medium-high heat, breaking the meat up as it cooks.

2. Add butter to the pan and stir it around until the butter has melted.

3. Sprinkle the flour over the sausage and stir for about 2 minutes.

4. Slowly pour the milk into the sausage, stirring constantly until smooth. Add seasonings and stir.

5. Cook until the gravy has thickened. Serve over your favorite biscuits.

Be sure to pin this recipe for later, it's a good one! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Instagram and Twitter for more delicious, quick, and easy recipes like this one. Better yet, subscribe to the blog so the recipes come straight to your inbox. See you soon!

Use #mandmcooks on social media so I can see how your dish turned out!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page