top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Absolutely Incredible Low-Carb Pizza Casserole


Stop denying yourself pizza! This delicious low-carb Pizza Casserole combines eggs, cheese and cream to form a guilt-free, gluten-free and keto-friendly crust that is out of this world. The Pizza Casserole is guaranteed to satisfy all of your pizza cravings. Head over to the Keto-Friendly section of the blog to check out all of the other great low-carb recipes!

Hey, y'all! I'm happy to say that we're going strong on our Keto-kick this week. We've had some pretty amazing dinners and we're both seeing the scale go down (which is always a plus). My goal for this little diet of ours was not to exclude my favorite foods from my diet but rather to adapt them in a way that was low-carb. So rather than chowing down on tacos for Taco Tuesday we've had dishes like Instant Pot Taco Soup, Taco Meatballs, and Beef Burrito Bowls. Instead of sitting down to a plate of pasta, I've made Italian-Style Spaghetti Squash with Meatballs or a Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Bowl. Rather that taking all of these wonderful foods out of my life, I've altered them to meet my needs.

Just as I couldn't go without tacos or pasta, I also didn't want to live without pizza. I mean, a world without pizza isn't really a world at all. Am I right? One of my absolute favorite dishes is my Meat Lovers Zucchini Boats; roasted zucchini piled high with pepperoni, sausage, ground beef, and delicious cheeses. Last night I went into the kitchen to prepare some of these when I realized my zucchini was starting to go bad. Rather than pick up the phone and order a pizza (which I really, really wanted to do), I came up with a backup plan.

Now it's not often that I prepare a meal and write about it the next day- that's how you know that this recipe is a damn good one.

My goal was to steer away from cauliflower as much as possible and to use only ingredients in the house I already had on hand. I decided to create a crust out of eggs, cream cheese, heavy cream, cheese, garlic and a bit of seasoning. Pretty crazy, right?

When Ashley first sat down to eat dinner she immediately asked what the crust was made of. When I told her she was a bit hesitant. She's one of those people who believes eggs belong only in breakfast foods and was grossed out by the thought of having an egg-based crust. She reluctantly took a bite and ended up devouring her entire dinner plate.

This dish tastes just like regular pizza just without the heaviness of the crust. Once you pile on all of your favorite pizza toppings, you don't even notice the pizza crust, trust me!

The great thing about pizza dishes is you can change up the favorite by swapping out cheese flavors and various toppings. You could even swap out the sauce to create Mexican pizzas, white pizzas, you name it!

I currently have a container of this anxiously awaiting me in my lunch box. I can't wait until lunch time!

Kitchen Essentials:

Ingredients:

4 oz cream cheese, softened 4 large eggs 1/3 cup heavy cream 1 1/4 cup grated Parmesan, divided (1/4 cup + 1 cup) 1/2 tsp minced garlic 1/2 tsp dried oregano 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, divided (1 cup + 1 cup) 1/2 cup low carb pizza sauce Pizza toppings (I used bacon, sausage, and pepperoni)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 13x9 baking dish and set aside.

2. Using a food processor or electric mixer, combine cream cheese and eggs until you get a smooth consistency. Add in the cream, 1/4 cup Parmesan, garlic, and oregano. Blend until well-combined.

3. Sprinkle 1 cup of Parmesan cheese and 1 cup of mozzarella cheese in the bottom of the greased casserole.

4. Slowly pour the egg mixture over the cheese. Bake int he oven for 30 minutes. Remove the dish from the oven.

5. Spread the crust with low-carb pizza sauce. Add your favorite pizza toppings and cover with the remaining 1 cup of mozzarella cheese.

6. Set the broiler on high and broil the casserole until the top is brown and bubbling. Remove from the oven and allow the casserole to sit for a few minutes before cutting.

Be sure to save this recipe for later, it's a good one! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Instagram and Twitter for more delicious recipes. You can also subscribe to the blog and have all of the recipes delivered straight to your inbox (winning!).

Use #mandmcooks on social media so I can see how your dish turned out.

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page