top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Easy to Make Taco Meatballs


These gluten-free, keto-friendly Taco Meatballs make a perfect appetizer or a quick and easy Taco Tuesday dinner idea! Head over to the Keto-Friendly section of the blog to check out all of the other great low-carb recipes!

Hey, y'all! Yesterday on the blog I shared with you an absolutely delicious Fiesta Stuffed Peppers recipe that I made for last week's game. I wanted to keep with the South of the Border theme and create a second appetizer to bring for the later games. I also wanted to stick with a keto-friendly recipe since Ashley, my brother, his wife and I are all trying a low-carb diet.

Naturally, my brain went to tacos when I thought of south of the border...but I had never heard of anyone making a taco flavored meatball. But really, how hard could it be? The base of many tacos is ground beef so my idea wasn't really that far fetched.

I pulled my hair back into a messy bun and got to work. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, I combined ground beef, taco seasoning mix, sliced green onion, two eggs and a bit of garlic. This is one of those things where it's easiest to just roll up your sleeves and mix the meat up with your hands, kind of like meatloaf.

Oh man...maybe I can come up with a taco meatloaf recipe? My wheels are turning!

Back on track.

Sorry.

Next, I took about a tablespoon of the meat mixture and molded it around a cube of cheese, forming it into a meatball. You can make your meatballs are small or as large as you'd like them. I decided I wanted to make mine a little bigger so I added some more meat and just kind of played around with the meatball until I was happy with the size of it.

Once the meatballs were all rolled, I placed them on a baking sheet with an edge on it and baked them in the oven for about 10 minutes at 425. The cooking time will vary, depending on how large your meatballs are. If you make them with 1 tbsp of meat, they'll take about 7 minutes. You'll know they are done when the cheese has melted and they are sizzling in the oven.

These little guys are so stinking good! You could serve them with a little bit of salsa on the side for dipping. They are absolutely perfect as an appetizer, or even a meal! We liked them so much that we had them for dinner this week as well.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 pounds ground beef 1 package taco seasoning mix 1 green onion, diced 2 eggs 1 clove garlic, minced 1 block sharp cheddar cheese, cubed

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 425. Spray an edged baking sheet with cooking spray and set aside.

2. Mix ground beef, taco seasoning, green onion, eggs, and garlic together in a medium-size bowl.

3. Mold about a tablespoon of meat around a cube of cheese to form a small meatball. If you want larger meatballs, make your cheese cubes a little larger.

4. Place meatball on an edged baking sheet and continue with the remaining meat mixture and cheese.

5. Bake at 425 for 7 to 10 minutes or until meat is done and the cheese has melted. The cooking time will depend on the size of your meatballs.

Don't forget to save this pin! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Twitter and Instagram for more delicious recipes. See you next time!

Use #mandmcooks on social media so I can see how your recipe turned out!

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page