top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

French Onion Chicken Casserole


Are you looking for the ultimate comfort food? Check out this fabulous chicken and rice recipe! This dish is extremely flavorful and is sure to be a crowd pleaser!

Hey, y'all! So...I'm kinda back with another chicken and rice casserole. Oops! Look, I told you we've been eating a lot of casseroles lately, and I totally wasn't kidding. Last week I shared with you my Cheesy Chicken, Broccoli and Rice and Cheesy Chicken and Rice recipes. My Good Ole Fashioned Chicken and Rice Casserole is one of my most pinned recipes and is super popular on the blog right now! This dish, however, takes chicken and rice to a whole new level.

So I'm going to be real with you here, this isn't the prettiest dish. In fact, it's damn ugly. But in all honesty, some of the most delicious dishes aren't the best looking. Don't let the looks fool you, this stuff is AMAZEBALLS!

Surely I can't be the only one who makes casseroles all the time...right? They are just so easy! You can just toss everything together in a baking dish and let the oven do its magic. It's funny because I didn't grow up this way. My mom never made casseroles, mostly because if a dish had the word "Casserole" in it's name, my dad wouldn't eat it. Yeah...he's a pain like that. But, now that I have kids of my own, I swear by these guys. They are perfect after working a long day and needing to find a quick and easy dinner idea.

This casserole is created with just a few ingredients, many that you probably already have on hand; chicken, rice, milk, canned soup, and a dry onion soup packet.

This dish is to die for y'all! The secret to making this casserole stand apart from all the others is the dry onion soup mix. Man do I love that stuff! It totally elevates this dish to a whole new level. I was a little leery of my idea of mixing dry onion soup mix with chicken to create a gravy but holy hell y'all, I may be on to something here!

The great thing about this recipe is that it requires just one dish. You know what that means... don't you? Fewer dishes! Jackpot! The steam from the liquid cooks the chicken and rice leaving it oh so delicious and totally flavorful.

Pro Tip: Be sure that the foil is secured tightly! This will help create more steam so that the rice cooks properly. If you do not do this, your rice may not cook correctly.

If you notice your rice isn't cooked through all the way, it's totally cool to stick it back in the oven. The liquid and steam will help keep your meat super tender and won't dry it out.

Ingredients:

2 cups uncooked long grain white rice OR 2 cups multi-grain medley rice 2 cups milk 2 10 oz cans cream of mushroom soup 1 packet dry onion soup mix 1 pound chicken tenderloins

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray a 9x13 baking dish with non-stick spray.

2. Add rice, milk, cans of soup and onion soup mix to the casserole dish. Stir to combine. Place tenderloins on top of the rice mixture.

3. Cover tightly with aluminum foil. Make sure the foil is on your dish nice and snugly to ensure the rice cooks properly. If you do not do this, your rice may not cook properly. Bake for 60 minutes, stirring once halfway through cooking.

4. After cooking for one hour, stir the ingredients together. Recover the casserole and cook for another 15 minutes or until rice is tender. Do not be afraid to let the dish cook longer, the steam and liquid will help keep the chicken tender.

Be sure to pin this fabulous recipe for later! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Twitter and Instagram for more super easy and totally delicious recipes. See you next time!

Use #mandmcooks on social media so I can see how your dish turned out!

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page