top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

6 Recipes Perfect for Taco Tuesday & Cinco de Mayo


These six recipes are sure to get the fiesta started and keep your family and friends coming back for more!

6 Recipes Perfect for Taco Tuesday & Cinco de Mayo

Hola, amigos! Feliz Cinco de Mayo! I'm almost embarrassed to admit this, but growing up my idea of Mexican food was Taco Bell. I'm sure a lot of people are the same way though...right?

To me, Mexican food was quick, super easy and all involved the same ingredients. It wasn't until I started traveling through Mexico that I learned just how complex true Mexican cuisine can be. Many of the meals take hours upon hours to develop their deep flavors. Taco Bell doesn't have anything on legit Mexican, let me tell you!

As I grew older, I began to appreciate Mexican food a whole lot more. While I still appreciate a good taco, and I could totally go to town on a Cool Ranch Doritos Locos Taco, I've expanded my horizons and have found other foods that I like as well.

In honor of today being Cinco de Mayo, and my love for all things Taco Tuesdays, I created a list of 6 of my favorite Mexican-inspired drinks and recipes. Of course, these recipes have all be adapted and are loosely based on some of my favorite meals I've discovered while traveling.

Oven-Baked Beef Taquitos

Oven-Baked Beef Taquitos are one of my favorite Mexican dishes. Taquitos translates to "little tacos". Taquitos are traditionally small corn tortilla shells that have been stuffed with meat and beans and topped with all of your favorite taco toppings aka Mexican salad. What I love most about this recipe is the fact that these taquitos are baked, rather than fried, so you won't have that stinky fried oil smell in your house!

Walking Taco Bar

These Ridiculously Fun Walking Tacos are great for Taco Tuesday and even better for Cinco de Mayo or any Mexican themed party. Each person gets to create their own flavor combination and pile all of the toppings into a chip bag which means fewer dishes for you. If that isn't a perk, I don't know what is!

Sweet Potoato Tacos

Don't worry my vegan and vegetarian friends, I have something for you too! I absolutely love combining the delicious flavors of sweet potatoes with black beans, corn, and taco toppings. We cram all of these ingredients into a tortilla shell and have The Most Incredible Sweet Potato Tacos. Yum! If you haven't tried this flavor combination yet, don't turn up your nose. This is one of our favorite meals!

Southwestern Spaghetti Squash

Speaking of favorite meals- I love cooking with spaghetti squash. Spaghetti squash is such a versatile veggie and can easily be transformed into a Mexican-inspired dish. My Veggie-Packed Southwestern Spaghetti Squash combines all of your favorite Mexican flavors into a delicious low-carb dish. Can you say winning?

Of course, it wouldn't be a Mexican-themed party without a little queso and boy do I have some killer queso recipes. My Slammin' Queso is always a crowd pleaser. It's a tasty combination of ground sausage, cream cheese, Rotel, and cheese dip. Boy, is it good!

Pineapple Jalapeno Margarita

With all of this scrumptious food on your table, you'll need something to wash it down with. May I suggest my Pineapple Jalapeno Margaritas? They are a little spicy and a little sweet and just the right thing to get the fiesta started!

6 Recipes Perfect for Taco Tuesday & Cinco de Mayo

I hope you like these recipes as much as we do. Be sure to pin these recipes for your next Mexican-themed dinner. Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more delicious ideas. See you next time!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page