top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Chicken Parmesan Stuffed Spaghetti Squash


This absolutely incredible Keto-Friendly Chicken Parmesan Stuffed Spaghetti Squash is simple to make and guaranteed to knock your socks off!

This absolutely incredible Chicken Parmesan Stuffed Spaghetti Squash is simple to make and guaranteed to knock your socks off!

Hey, ya'll! Happy Sunday! I just realized that I haven't shared a spaghetti squash recipe this week! The audacity, right? Well don't fret, I've got another delicious recipe for you. If you've been following along, each week during the month of April I'm sharing a recipe featuring the extremely versatile spaghetti squash. So far I've shared my mouthwatering 3 Cheese Garlic Spaghetti Squash and my Veggie-Packed Southwestern Spaghetti Squash.

If you haven't tried spaghetti squash yet, it's a pretty awesome vegetable. By roasting the squash in the oven, it creates little strands that look like spaghetti noodles. Once you scoop the noodles out of the squash, you can create all kinds of dishes like spaghetti, pad thai, alfredo, the options are limitless!

What is spaghetti squash?

Spaghetti squash is a delicious squash that when cooked, the insides create ribbons or strands that resemble spaghetti. It can be cooked in a variety of ways including baking, boiling, steaming, and even microwaving. It is often used as a substitute for pasta.

Is spaghetti squash keto friendly?

Spaghetti squash is very low carb, but like many foods, it is not totally carb-free. 1/2 cup of spaghetti squash contains roughly 20 calories and 5 g of carbs. So while it fits in the keto diet, you still need to watch your portion size!

Today I thought I'd take things in a different direction and take you to a little boot-shaped country known as Italy. I have an obsession with all things Italian. My dream vacation would be spending a couple of weeks exploring little Italian towns like Lucca, Siena, San Gimignano, Cinque Terre and the lake and Dolomite Region. Sigh. Someday.

One of my favorite things about Italy is the food. I've played around with some Italian-inspired recipes in my day. Dishes like Chicken Scallopini and The Best 20 Minute Baked Tortellini were inspired by my love of Italy. My favorite Italian meal is Chicken Parmesan. I've shared with you my Chicken Parmesan Stuffed Bread and my remarkable Chicken Parmesan Pizza but this Chicken Parmesan Stuffed Spaghetti Squash takes chicken parm to a whole new level.

Ingredients:

1 large spaghetti squash 1 boneless skinless chicken breast 2 eggs Flour Italian bread crumbs 36 oz red sauce (I use Prego) 1/2 cup grated parmesan 1 cup + shredded mozzarella 1 tbsp Italian seasoning 2 tbsp butter or oil for frying

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Slice the squash in half lengthwise (from stem to tip). Remove seeds. Drizzle the inside of the squash with olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste. Turn flesh side down and roast in the oven for 45 minutes.

Tip: Save the squash cavity to use as a serving bowl!

2. Once the squash is cool enough to handle, use a fork to scrape the spaghetti flesh creating "noodles" being careful not to poke through the skin.

3. While the squash is cooling, cut raw chicken into strips. Season with salt and pepper.

4. Place flour, beaten egg and breadcrumbs into three separate bowls. Coat each strip with flour, then egg and then roll in breadcrumbs.

5. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat or pour oil in a cast-iron skillet to come 1/4 inch up the side.

6. Fry the chicken strips until golden brown on all sides and cooked through. You may need to do this in batches. Transfer the chicken to paper towels and remove the pan from heat.

7. Pour red sauce over the shredded squash. Top with chicken strips, more red sauce, and sprinkle with mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Add a pinch of Italian seasoning.

Tip: You may or may not use all of the red sauce, depending on how saucy you like your pasta.

8. Return to the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes or until cheese has melted.

This absolutely incredible Chicken Parmesan Stuffed Spaghetti Squash is simple to make and guaranteed to knock your socks off!

I have a feeling you're really going to like this recipe, so make sure you pin it for later! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more delicious recipes just like this one! See you next time!

Use #mandmcooks on social media so I can see how your dish turned out!

Updated: 3/24/2019

380 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page