top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Pastelito de Guayaba (Guava Pastries)


These little guava pastries may look delicate and sophisticated but they are super simple to make! These flaky little bites of heaven are fantastic for breakfast or an easy dessert!

These little guava pastries may look delicate and sophisticated but they are super simple to make!  They are fantastic for breakfast or an easy dessert!

Hey, y'all! I apologize for being MIA lately. I've been elbow deep in pink chocolate and confectionery sugar. As I mentioned last week, I've been crazy busy preparing for my brother's couple's baby shower. He and his girlfriend, Maru, are expecting their first child- a little girl- so my life has been inundated with pink.

My mom, sister-in-law and I hosted the shower at my parent's house on Saturday. My mom took care of the food, I was in charge of the dessert table and my sister-in-law handled the games. Everything came together and the shower was lovely.

These little guava pastries may look delicate and sophisticated but they are super simple to make!  They are fantastic for breakfast or an easy dessert!

When my mom assigned me the dessert table, I knew that I wanted to include a dessert from Maru's home country of Puerto Rico. I thought that it might be a nice way to welcome her to the family and a nice gesture to her family that was visiting. After a bit of searching, I came across pastelito de guayaba or guava pastries.

Guava pastries are super simple to make. You simply unfold a defrosted sheet of puff pastry onto a baking sheet. I took a pizza cutter and gently pressed it into the dough, just enough to form little lines but not cut through the dough, and created 9 squares. I placed 1 tablespoon of guava paste in each of the squares. Next, I placed a second sheet of puff pastry on top. I used the lines as a guideline to cut out 9 individual pastries. I popped the little guys in the oven until they were golden in color and then topped them with confectionery sugar. That's it!

Tip: Not sure where to find guava paste? Check the Hispanic aisle in your local grocery store. The guava paste comes in a brick and is super easy to work with.

The dessert was a total hit! Not just with Maru's family but with our family and friends as well. Maru's family was so excited when they discovered the guava pastries on the dessert table. Mission accomplished.

These little guava pastries may look delicate and sophisticated but they are super simple to make!  They are fantastic for breakfast or an easy dessert!

Ingredients:

1 package of puff pastry sheets (there's 2 in a box), defrosted 9 oz guava paste Confectionery sugar

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a 9x13 baking sheet with cooking spray.

2. Lay out one sheet of defrosted puff pastry. Gently press a pizza cutter into the dough just enough to visually create 9 squares, but not cut through the dough completely.

3. Place 1 tbsp of guava paste in each of the squares.

4. Cover the guava paste with the second sheet of puff pastry. Use a pizza cutter to cut the pastry into 9 squares.

5. Place each of the squares on the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until the pastry is puffy and gold in color.

6. Once cooled, dust with powdered sugar and serve.

These little guava pastries may look delicate and sophisticated but they are super simple to make!  They are fantastic for breakfast or an easy dessert!

Don't forget to use the #mandmcooks if you make this dish so we can see how it turns out!

Be sure to save this pin! You're going to be craving these guava pastries later! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Instagram and Twitter for more delicious, healthy recipes like this one. See you next time!

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page