top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Bacon Blue Cheese Truffles


Hello, friends! Earlier this month I teased my Facebook and Twitter followers with a Sneak Peek of today's recipe. I'm finally ready to share it with you all!

As I've mentioned before, football is a big deal in our family. 3 generations of family members meet up at my parent's house to watch the games each Sunday. Each year for the Super Bowl, we take the festivities outside and watch the big game outside. My dad projects the game onto the side of the house and we all sit around the firepit stuffing our faces with incredible food.

This year I wanted to bring something different for the game. I started thinking about different kinds of pub foods and my mind kept wandering back to blue cheese and bacon. I decided that I was going to make a pub-inspired bacon and blue cheese truffle coated in pretzel crumbs and green onions.

Are you drooling yet?

Ingredients: 6 oz thick bacon, chopped fine 4 oz cream cheese, room temperature 4 oz crumbled Gorgonzola, room temperature 1 cup finely crushed pretzel sticks 14 pretzel sticks 2 tbsp fresh green onions, minced

Prepare bacon in a medium-sized skillet over medium heat. Cook the bacon until crispy, about 10 minutes. Allow bacon to cool.

In a medium-size bowl, combine the room temperature cream cheese and gorgonzola. Add the cooled and finely chopped bacon to the mixture. Combine with a rubber spatula.

Using your hands, roll the mixture into small balls. You should get about 14 individual truffles from this mixture. Place the balls on a sheet of wax paper.

Place the cheese balls in the refrigerator to cool for approximately 30 minutes.

Using a food processor, crush a handful of pretzel sticks (approximately 1 1/2 cups). Add pretzel crumbs to a medium size bowl and stir in the green onion.

Place the cheese ball with one hand and a handful of pretzel and onion mixture with the other. Roll the rub your hands together in a circular motion until the ball is coated in the mixture. I found this method was much easier than rolling the cheese in the bowl. By applying a little pressure, the green onions stuck to the ball.

Carefully place a pretzel in the center of the ball. Serve immediately or keep cool until you're ready to serve.

You can serve them as is however, I prefer to serve mine with pretzels.

I hope your friends and family enjoy this fun, easy, football snack as much as we did! If you're a cheese ball lover as much as I am, be sure to check out my Million Dollar Pomegranate White Cheddar Cheese Ball or my Jalapeno Popper Cheese Ball!

Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more fun recipes!

246 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page