top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Nana's Oyster Crackers


As I mentioned yesterday, I come from a long line of great cooks. I shared with you my great-grandmother's waffle recipe that has been passed down and used for the last 5 generations. Today I'm going to share with you one of her daughter's "recipes". There is one recipe of hers that I remember enjoying growing up. It's funny, really, now that I'm older and I look back at how much I loved Nana's Oyster Crackers. They're so simple anyone can make them, even my aunt who's sole responsibility for family dinners is preparing the ice water.

Ingredients:

1/2 package of ranch dressing mix

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

3/8 cup of vegetable or canola oil

1 bag of oyster crackers

Combine all of the ingredients in a gallon size bag.

Shake vigorously.

Store in an airtight container...which in the south means a Mason jar.

You really can't go wrong with this snack, unless you forget about it in the oven of course :) If my Nana can do it, so can you! God she's going to kill me if she ever reads this.

Be forewarned that they are terribly addictive. The best thing about storing them in a Mason jar is you can literally just pour them down your throat. You're judging me, aren't you?

Nana never puts red pepper flakes in hers, I think she added extra dill to her mixture. I like to give the crackers a little bit of a bite so I add the pepper flakes. Of course, those are totally optional. You could add extra dill to yours, like Nana does or you could add lemon pepper.

Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more great, easy-to-make, recipes!

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page