top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Nana's Waffles


I come from a line of amazing cooks. In our family we have chefs, grill masters and amateur cooks. My mom even competed in an Iron Chef competition and received an award from Cat Cora. All three of her kids, myself included, love playing around with recipes and trying new things. Most weekends you can find my 2 nieces in the kitchen getting their hands dirty and learning the family trade.

My great-grandmother, Marcia Lane Payne, was most known for her waffles, of all things. Every Christmas my great-grandmother would prepare the batter and my great-grandfather would cook them on the waffle iron.

The tradition of Christmas waffles has been passed down for 5 generations. They're that good! I'm telling you, there's nothing better than homemade waffles.

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

3 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp sugar

1/2 cup melted butter

2 whipped egg whites to a soft peak

2 egg yolks

1/2 tsp salt

1 2/3 cup of milk.

Mix egg yolks with salt, sugar, baking powder, milk, flour and melted butter. Fold in whipped egg whites.

Cook in a waffle iron sprayed with cooking spray. Cook until golden brown, or until the timer goes off.

And that's it.

It's seriously that simple!

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page