top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole


Juicy chicken, delicious cheese and rice come together to form the perfect, creamy and totally scrumptious casserole!

Hey, y'all! Get excited for your life because I'm back with another fantastic casserole recipe! In case you couldn't tell by my Oh So Delicious Cheesy Chicken Broccoli and Rice Casserole and my Good Ole Fashioned Chicken and Rice Casserole, I am a sucker for these guys! I mean...if I can just toss some ingredients into a baking dish, give the dish a stir and forget about it I am a happy girl!

I have to admit, we have been living off of casseroles lately. They are just so simple to prepare now that I'm back at work and we've got the two little kiddos staying with us. I whipped up a batch of this goodness earlier this week and our little guy tore it up! One great thing about this recipe is that it reheats very well. Our kiddos have visitation with their Bio Parents twice a week and don't get home until about 6 o'clock on those nights. Our plan is to have a casserole similar to this one ready to just reheat on visitation nights so we don't have to mess around with dinner. Crock pots and casseroles are about to become my new BFFs.

Basically, all 3 of these recipes start with the same basic ingredients; chicken, cans of soup, rice, and cheese. I mean...come on ya'll, you can't go wrong with this combination, am I right? These are all things that I always have on hand. I just combine them in different ways and viola you have a different dish.

To make this recipe easier for a weeknight, you could pick up a rotisserie chicken from the deli and use that rather than taking the time to boil the chicken and shred it. To be honest, I find it just as easy to boil the chicken, season it and cut it into chunks.

Ingredients:

1 rotisserie chicken, or 4 cups of shredded chicken 1 can of Cheddar Soup 1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1/4 tsp pepper 1 cup milk 1 cup chicken broth/stock or water 2 cups instant rice, uncooked 3/4 cup to 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly spray a 13x9 pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. Remove skin from rotisserie chicken and discard. Remove the chicken from the bones and chop into fine pieces or shred with two forks.

3. In the 13x9 pan, combine chicken, cans of soup, garlic powder, pepper, milk, chicken broth/stock, and uncooked rice. Stir to combine. Top with shredded cheddar cheese.

4. Bake uncovered for about 40 minutes.

Be sure to pin this simple recipe for later! Give me a like on Facebook or follow me on Instagram and Twitter for more delicious, easy-to-make recipes. See you next time!

Use #mandmcooks on Social Media so I can see how your recipe turned out!

109 views0 comments
bottom of page