top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Tender Ranch Flavored Cube Steaks


Hey, y'all! I'm so excited about sharing this recipe with you all. I am not exaggerating when I say that we have this dish about once a week. It's Ashley's absolute favorite meal! It's not only delicious but it is ridiculously easy to make! If that doesn't sell you, it's also super inexpensive.

Growing up, my mom did most of the cooking. On nights that my mom was late, my dad would whip something up for us. One of his go-to dishes was cube steaks. Now, when dad made them he prepared them like cheeseburgers. We slapped on ketchup, mustard, and relish and ripped the meat apart with our teeth. The meat was never tender and always really freakin' chewy. It was good, just chewy.

When Ashley first told me she loved cube steaks, dad's cube steak burgers are what popped into my head. She looked at me like I was an alien when I told her how we ate cube steaks in my family. She grew up eating them with a gravy so I set out to re-create her favorite meal. I'm pretty sure it's safe to say that I not only nailed it on the head, but I also added a little twist (the ranch seasoning) that took it up another notch.

To prove how easy this dinner is, I had my niece Monster prepare it one day! Monster is 3 1/2-years-old and absolutely loves to cook. This dish is so simple that she went through all of the steps on her own.

Ingredients:

1 package of cube steaks, defrosted

1 packet of dry ranch seasoning

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

~ 1 1/3 cups of milk

Instructions:

1. Pour cream of mushroom soup and ranch packet into a medium size bowl. Fill the empty can with milk and add it to the soup mixture. Use a whisk to combine.

2. Place the cube steaks in a crock pot, laying them as flat as possible.

3. Pour the mixture over the cube steaks.

4. Cook on low for 6-7 hours. Serve over rice, mashed potatoes or noodles.

The end result is completely sensational! I can't imagine this is the same, tough cut of meat that I used to eat as a child. Cooking the cube steaks low and slow in the crock pot is most definitely the way to go! The milk helps break down the meat, it becomes fork tender and the flavor is out-of-this world.

This recipe couldn't be any easier. The prep time is less than 5 minutes which makes it perfect for those of us with busy schedules. I love that I can whip this up before work and can come home to a delicious meal.

I can't wait for you to try one of our favorite dinner recipes. Be sure to share your thoughts in the comments below! Like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more simple, delicious recipes. Later this month I'll be sharing the recipe for the incredible asparagus pictured above. See y'all next time!

114 views0 comments
bottom of page