top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Patriotic Mason Jars


Hello, friends! Summer is right around the corner! I'm so excited I can hardly stand it! Beach days, vacations, fruity summer drinks and the smell of dinner cooking on the grill are some of my favorite things about this time of the year.

Each year I deck out our house in red, white, and blue. I've already started breaking out the stars and stripes in hopes that summer will come sooner!

Lately, Ashley has been complaining that we have too many Mason jars as if that was a thing. I decided to raid our cabinet and transform three of them to a super fun, festive flag project.

I began by spray painting three Mason jars white.

Next, I painted one of the jars blue. I used a stencil and a white colored pencil to draw the outline of stars onto the jar. Next, I filled each of the stars in with white paint.

Afterwards, it was time to tackle the stripes. I taped off the "stripes" and used acrylic paint to paint the red. I hated the way it looked. I decided to paint over it with tempera paint. The tempera paint left kind of a chalk paint vibe to the project, which I really liked.

My original intentions were to distress the jars with sandpaper however, when I peeled the tape off of the jars, the jars already had a distressed vibe to them so I nixed that idea.

I added some flowers to each of the jars and viola! Instant American decor. I love the way the jars turned out! As you can see in the picture below, I added some jute to the jars to help finish them off. I absolutely adore them!

Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more fun DIY ideas.

Don't forget to save this pin for later:

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page