top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

$1 Easter Egg Garland


Add a little pop of color to your mantel this Easter with this super easy to make $1 Easter Egg Garland.

Hello, friends! Our trip to Alaska is less than 3 months away and Ashley has put us on a tight budget so that we can get the most out of our summer vacation. I have to admit, I am a shopper. I will buy things just to buy them. There are clothes in my closet that I've never worn, shoes that I wear maybe once a year and we have more dishes and glasses than we know what to do with.

Living on a budget will be tough for me, but I'm determined to not let it stop me from decorating the house for Easter. More often than not, DIY projects are cheaper than store bought stuff. Instead of buying a garland for my fireplace, I decided to make one.

I went to the local hardware store and picked up paint samples. These are free in the paint section, as you probably know.

Next, I used an egg that I had laying around the house to trace an oblong shape onto the paint samples. I cut out that egg and used it as a template for the other Easter eggs.

I picked up this bakers twine in the craft section of the Dollar Tree. I measured out the width of my fireplace, plus a little extra and cut it. Using scotch tape, I secured the twine to the mantle.

My assistant, Ricochet, helped me make sure it was center. Working from the center towards the ends, I began taping the egg cut outs to the twine.

The end result was a super cute, fun and festive garland that cost me only $1 to make! Ricochet and I like the look, how about you?

Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter for more easy DIY projects! See you next time!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page