top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Celebrating the Oscars


Hello, friends! As you may know, the Oscars are being hosted in Hollywood later this month. Normally we don't give a hoot about award shows but any excuse is a good excuse for a family get together. Our family has a fun tradition of gathering around the fire pit, roasting marshmallows and enjoying an outdoor movie or football game. My dad suggested that we all invite friends over to watch a screening of two of the Oscar-nominated movies.

My parents have an incredible house. My dad has created a state-of-the-art theater room complete with theater seating, surround sound, a theater style popcorn machine, and sound proof walls. The projector displays movies on a screen the spans the entire length and height of the room. It's super cool!

Outside they have a fire pit surrounded by cozy couches where we watch football games and movies. My nieces love gathering around the flames to watch movies under the stars.

We were all looking forward to our Oscar Movie night. As soon as my dad suggested the idea, I knew exactly what I would make: a popcorn and candy bar complete with salty, buttery goodness and lots of candy. I mean... it is a movie night after all!

I also made Oscar-inspired black tie golden mini cupcakes.

My parents went all out for the party. We're talking red carpet, Oscars to hand out for various categories, bow ties and ball gowns.

All this... to watch a movie outside. Haha.

We invited family friends to join us for the festivities. In total there were about 35 of us gathered in my parents back yard to watch Hacksaw Ridge and Hidden Figures. Everyone brought a dish to share so there was plenty to eat. We had hotdogs to roast over the fire, 2 kinds of chili, steak bites, queso, buffalo chicken ranch dip, a fruit & veggie tray, sausage balls, cupcakes, chocolate covered Oreos and much, much more!

We had so much fun watching the movies with our friends and family that we've decided to do it again!

Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter and Instagram for more of my families over-the-top parties and sneak peeks of what is to come here on Maps & Monograms. See you next time!

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page