top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

5-Minute American Flag Tobacco Ladder DIY


Hello, friends! Last year I attended an event called Rustapalooza here in downtown Jacksonville. Rustapalooza was an event that showcased hundreds of vendors that specialize in modern farmhouse decor. Several of the vendors sold homemade goods, tobacco ladders, galvanized pieces, and other rustic decor. There were pallets and monograms everywhere!

Like the other gazillion people there, I picked up a tobacco ladder to use in my house. For those of who are transitioning to modern farmhouse decor, this is one of the key pieces in this process. I'm sure you've seen tobacco ladders on Pinterest, everybody has one. Most people drape a blanket or two over the rungs and call it a day. Other people might use twine to hang a picture frame from it.

I wanted to be different.

You see, when my home isn't decorated for a particular holiday, my decor is Americana. Think stars and stripes, red, white & blue, you know... America.

I began trying to come up with different ideas for displaying my tobacco ladder. I knew I wanted to go against the grain and hang it horizontally rather than just prop it up against the wall. I also knew that I didn't want to use blankets or photos on mine...but I did want to wrap it with something.

That's when it hit me; I could use an American flag!

Items Needed: Raffia American Flag Tobacco Ladder

Lay your raffia flat on a table, keeping it in a bunch.

Using a pair of scissors, cut the raffia into 2 sections of about 3 feet each.

Take one of the bunches and thread it to the eyelet on the corner of the flag.

Attach the flag to the tobacco ladder by using the raffia to tie a bow.

Fold your flag into a rectangle so the sides are even. Weave the flag in and out of the rungs and secure the other end of the flag to the ladder by forming another raffia bow.

Add a personalized chalkboard sign to for a finishing touch.

I'll be heading to Rustapalooza again soon. I can't wait to check out all of this years vendors! Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter so you don't miss more easy-to-make DIY projects!

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page