top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Countdown Until Our Sailor Comes Home


Hello, friends! I grew up in a military family. Before I was eight-years-old, I lived in Virginia, New York, Iceland, Illinois and Florida. As a child, it seemed as though my dad was gone more often than not. Because of this, my mom was forced to play the part of both mom and dad; a role than many parents have to do.

Countdown Until Our Sailor Comes Home Hershey Kiss

My mom started a tradition with us each time dad went overseas. When dad left, mom would fill a jar full of Hersey Kisses for each of us kids. Each jar held a Kiss for each day dad would be gone. Every night, after dinner, we got to enjoy one of the Kisses and update our countdown of how many days until dad returned.

This was one of my favorite memories from my childhood. It is a simple, easy idea to implement in your own home to count down until your sailor comes home. Those of you who are crafty with vinyl could create a jar that says, "Kisses From Daddy" or "Kisses From Mommy". You could also use alphabet stickers to create your special message.

Be sure to like M&M on Facebook or follow me on Twitter so you don't miss more great ideas! Check out our kid-friendly DIY projects to keep your little ones busy.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page