top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Simple Heart-Shaped Love Train


Hello, friends! Is your mouth still salivating over our 15 Delicious Valentine's Day Baked Goods? I know mine is! I'm still trying to narrow down which dessert we'll be baking on Valentine's Day. I'll definitely have to make some more Valentine's S'more Snack Mix since it has mysteriously disappeared.

Today I want to share with you a ridiculously easy heart-shaped "love train" I made using something we all have laying around our house: books.

Our house has an abundance of books.

We have books in the library.

We have books in my office.

We have books in the bedroom.

Heck, we even have books in the guest bedroom, the living room and the kitchen. Come to think of it, we have books in every single room of our house. In fact, my The Happiness Project book is currently laying next to my bathtub.

Man, we're book nerds.

I was dusting the library one afternoon when on a whim I pulled down a book and began tearing out pages. Now I wasn't taking out my anger on the book or anything, I was getting crafty! Although I have to admit that it felt good ripping out all of those pages.

Next, I folded the pages in half and began cutting out teardrop patterns to make hearts just like I used to do when I was a little kid. I can't tell you how many hearts I made out of scraps of paper when I was little. I thought it was the coolest thing! I thought I was a true artist simply because I was able to cut out paper hearts.

Afterward, I cut a long piece of fishing line (about the length of my windows) and began taping the hearts to the line. I varied the pattern a bit to make it a little more interesting.

Have you met my assistant Ricochet? He's kind of a big deal on Instagram. He's moved into my office and started to "help" me with craft projects. He loved this one in particular! He kept batting at all the heart strings so I ended up taping them to the closet in my office where he couldn't reach them. I made something similar for my classroom this winter using cotton balls and once the pieces of garland got tangled it was a nightmare. I ended up tossing all of the snow garland out and starting over again.

I was determined to not have to do this again!

Now before you scroll any further...please note that I'm in the process of switching out my window treatments. Don't judge my naked walls.

I loved the way it turned it. The garland was simple to make and couldn't have been any cheaper.

What do you think?

Oh, and in case you were wondering, Ricochet hasn't touched the hearts since they've been hung (and it's been over a week). I think he loves them as much as I do. Good eye cat, good eye.

Check out how all of my Valentine's Day DIY projects came together in my Valentine's Day Home Tour! Be sure to like M&M on Facebook and follow us on Twitter so you don't miss it!

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page