top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Free Mother's Day Printables


Hello, friends! Can you believe it's already May? We're already nearly half-way into 2017 (can you tell I'm a glass is 1/2 full kind of gal?). Where has the year gone?

May is such a fun month for my family. We celebrate my mom and brother's birthday, Cinco de Mayo, and of course Mother's Day. One of my favorite ways to celebrate holidays is with free, fun printables. Printables are an easy way to spruce up your decor for any holiday of the year! I have an 8x10 frame that I use for each holiday. I simply switch out the printable inside of it and, viola! Instant decor!

My mom is one of my best-buds. As a Navy Wife, she was often forced to take on the roles of both mom and dad. Raising 3 kids isn't easy, especially when your spouse is half way across the globe. Add in the fact that we were all ridiculously curious, adventurous and always getting into situations we probably shouldn't have... makes the job even more difficult.

We weren't bad, by any means. We were simply children of the outdoors.

We built forts in the middle of the woods. We slid down massive sand hills in laundry baskets and put lawn chairs on top of skateboards and rolled down hills. My brothers and I were always into something.

My poor mother.

She was tough. She nursed us through broken arms, concussions, bruises and scrapes. She let us learn about our limitations, conquer our fears and allowed us to simply be kids.

I bet you're wondering if we grew out of our adventurous nature, aren't you?

One of my brothers rides a motorcycle and the other is a cop...does that answer your question? As for me? I've capsized a sailboat, explored Europe with complete strangers, and explored caves and jungles throughout Mexico and Central America. I've free climbed a massive waterfall while water cascaded all around me. I've snorkeled some incredible reefs all throughout the Caribbean, ziplined in Costa Rica and Belize and been on more adventures than I can count.

And do you want to know who was by my side for many of my adventures?

My brothers.

I truly think that the reason my brothers and I are so close is the fact that mom let us have "adventures" when we were younger. We were forced to work together to solve problems and encouraged each other to do things we were scared of.

Now that we're older, and some of us have children of our own, we have slowed down a little. Mom and dad organize an annual family cruise where we still have a chance to be wild and adventurous. Mom still encourages us to get out there and explore. She's my favorite travel companion and the first person I want to share stories with about my adventures... even if it makes her cringe a little.

This summer, Ashley and I are heading to Alaska with my parents. My brothers won't be able to join us this year, so mom and dad will be my adventure companions. Together we'll see the Yukon, go whale watching and explore Mendenhall Glacier.

Here are some of my favorite Mother's Day Printables.

Source: A Night Owl

Source: Lolly Jane

Source: SOHOSonnet

Less than 50 days until our next adventure! I can't wait to set sail again with my favorite travel buddy!

445 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page