top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Top 5 Things to do in Belize


Hello, friends! Last month we journeyed to Honduras when I launched "Maps" side of Maps & Monograms. As a former travel blogger, I loved being able to share with you my favorite place in the world, Little French Key. Little French Key, is a small island off the island of Roatan. As much I love Roatan and LFK, I wouldn't say that Honduras is my favorite country. That honor belongs to a small Central American country called Belize.

Belize owns my heart. I fell in love with it the on my first visit in 2007 and keep coming back for more. I have now been to Belize 5 times and will most definitely be returning. Belize isn't your traditional beauty. The country itself is poor and most definitely still developing. While LFK is the ultimate paradise, Belize isn't much of a looker. Belize, however, is a diamond in the rough. It has some serious potential.

The people of Belize are incredible. They are some of the most kind-hearted, welcoming and appreciative people I've ever met. They are a huge part of why I love the country so much. Belize is the perfect location for adventurous travel. Between SCUBA Diving, Cave Tubing, Zip Lining, Caving and all of the other outdoor activities, you'll never be bored!

Here is my Top 5 Things to do in Belize:

1. Cave Tubing- Have you ever heard of cave tubing? Cave tubing is where you float on an inner tube on a river that winds through a cave. It is so relaxing and such a cool experience! The caves are pitch black inside. The only light comes from your small head lamp. Parts of the cave have shallow water, just remember "Butts Up" and you'll be alright! Want more details? Visit here.

2. Visit Xunantunich- Xunantunich may actually be my favorite Mayan ruins that I've been to. Xunantunich is located near the city of San Ignacio near the Guatemalan border, about 80 miles west of Belize City. Part of what makes these ruins are so cool is the fact that you can actually climb to the top of El Castillo, the massive structure you see pictured. The climb to the top is a little nerve wrecking but absolutely worth it. You'll be greeted by incredible views at the top.

3. Visit Cahal Pech- You can actually see Cahal Pech from the top of Xunantunich. The two ancient cities were relatively close to one another. Cahal Pech is much smaller however, you're able to explore many of the buildings and climb the pyramids. These ruins are much easier to climb than Xunantunich.

4. Zip Lining- Belize was the very first place that I tried zip lining. We booked a tour through Caves Branch. Our guide was very helpful and comforting. He talked us through each of the traverses and repels. What a rush!

5. The Great Blue Hole- The Blue Hole may be one of Belize's most famous sites. It is well-known for it's diving and snorkeling. The Great Blue Hole is about 43 miles north of Belize City. In 2012, the Discovery Channel ranked it #1 on their list of "The 10 Most Amazing Places on Earth". Be sure to research the pre-requisites for divers before you book your trip.

I hope you enjoyed this sneak peek of my favorite country! Next month, in honor of Cinco de Mayo, I'll be taking you to an amazing cenote in Mexico! Be sure to like me on Facebook or follow me on Instagram and Twitter so you don't miss our next adventure. See you next time!

124 views0 comments
bottom of page