top of page
  • Writer's pictureElle

Christmas Home Tour: The Kitchen


Merry Christmas friends! The rest of the house is still fast asleep. I'm sitting here listening to Darius Rucker's incredible version of "Mr. Grinch" while sipping on a delicious cup of coffee by the light of the Christmas tree. For now, the house is peaceful. We are dog sitting the rest of our pack (my friends 2 labs) so our house is full of energy (and fur).

The kitchen is the heart of our home; it's the one place everyone congregates when they come over. It actually drives me bonkers. We'll have 35-40 people over for a Christmas party and everyone will be in our tiny kitchen. Note to self: a large kitchen is a requirement when we build our house.

Knowing that this is where everyone congregates, I was on a mission to find the perfect table. I knew I wanted a rustic, modern farm house style table with a bench but when it comes furniture I am super picky. We finally found the perfect table...and even better, we both actually agreed on it!

Modern Farm House Decor: Table

How sexy are those legs?

And yes... that's most definitely a dog toy on the floor. There are toys scattered all over the house. I've given up on cleaning up after them. As long as they are having fun, that's all the matters.

Modern Farm House Style: table scape

Modern Farm House Style

Another thing we can agree on? Antlers!

Modern Farm House Style: tobacco ladder, pallet

We picked up this tobacco ladder at Rustapalooza and I wanted to do something different with it. Everyone else tosses a blanket on it and calls it a day. Now while that's cute and all, I wanted to be a little different so I wrapped an American flag on it and mounted it on the wall. It's the perfect focal point and ties in with our usual living room decor.

Nothing says modern farm house style like pallets, chalkboard, tobacco ladders, antlers and metal.

Modern Farm House Style

Modern Farm House Style

I found this super cute rusty old scale while cleaning out my nana's garage. I couldn't resist making it mine (with permission of course). My kitchen and library are filled with all kinds of antique goodies like this that I salvaged from her garage. Some of them date back to my great-grandparents.

Now...the kitchen itself...I hate. But we're in a rental so I can't do much about it. There's something about the old white appliances that irks me. Thus...no pictures of the kitchen itself, just of little bits and pieces of it...

My best bud, and mom to our 2 visiting labs, gave me an awesome gift basket this year. Inside of it was this bottle of wine from a local winery (one of my favorites) and this adorable little snowman.

This candy filled snowman was a gift from one of my students. It sits on top of an old crock that belonged to my great-grandparents. It's amazing how the function of something changes simply by flipping it over.

We picked up these goodies at Christmas of the South. Is it weird that I haven't actually tried them? The bags are so pretty that I just laid them out on a platter for decor.

There you have it. Our festive, modern farmhouse kitchen.

63 views0 comments
bottom of page